GOVERNANCE FB Twitter LinkedIn


Our Board of Directors are a group of outstanding people with diverse experience and knowledge, who serve to ensure our vision, purpose and values are maintained and provide oversight across strategy execution.

Translational Research

Brien Holden Vision Institute (ABN 49 081 303 282) is an Australian Public Company Limited by Guarantee and registered charity with the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission (ACNC). It is also a member of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI) and has been affiliated with the University of New South Wales Australia since 2005.


Professor Brian Layland, BSc (Opt. Sc.) OAM (Chair of the Board)
Brian Layland served as an optometrist in his own practice for 45 years until taking up the position of Director of Aboriginal Vision Programs for the Brien Holden Vision Institute. He served on the Council of the Australian Optometric Association (NSW) for 56 years. During this time he also served as a member of the National Council of the Australian Optometric Association (AOA) for 17 years, was national president of the AOA and president of the NSW division, a member of the Board of Optometrical Registration for 13 years, a member of the Optical Dispensers Licencing Board, and for 13 years served as the Australian representative on the World Council of Optometry.

He has made a major contribution to the development of the optometry profession in Australia, and was heavily involved in the acceptance of optometric services into Medibank and Veterans’ Affairs, as well as the establishment and development of VisionCare NSW which distributed more than 1.6 million pairs of spectacles to those in need throughout NSW.

In 1979, Brian Layland received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for services to the profession of optometry, the International Optometrist of the Year award from the World Council of Optometry in 1992, the Wilfred I. Wenborn award for conspicuous service in the advancement of the profession of optometry, the prestigious Josef Lederer award for excellence in optometry in 1996 and the J Lloyd Hewett medal in 2010. Brian is an Emeritus Professor at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). He has been a Visiting Lecturer at the School of Optometry, UNSW from 1971, where he has also been an Advisory Committee member since 1957. He was appointed a Fellow of UNSW in 2010.
Frank Back, LLB
Professor Anthony Chapman-Davies, BOptom (Hons) MOptom GradCert OcTher
Professor Charles McMonnies, BSc MSc
Dr Gullapalli 'Nag' Rao, MBBS PhD
Ms Yvette Waddell, MBA


Professor Kovin Naidoo, OD MPH PhD FAAO
Professor Naidoo is an academic, former anti-apartheid activist and political prisoner, optometrist and an internationally celebrated public health leader. He is currently Africa Chair of the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness (IAPB), trustee of VISION 2020, a member of the World Council of Optometry Governing Board, and member of the World Health Organization Refractive Error Working Group. Professor Naidoo is currently CEO of the African Vision Research Institute and an Associate Professor of Optometry at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa.

Professor Naidoo is a Fulbright Scholar and was elected an Ashoka Fellow in 2006 for his social entrepreneurial efforts in addressing the needs of those less privileged. He was African Optometrist of the Year in 2002 and named International Optometrist in 2007. He was jointly awarded with Professor Brien Holden the Schwab Social Entrepreneur Award for Africa 2010, at the regional World Economic Forum in Tanzania.
Yvette Waddell, MBA
Amanda Davis, MPH BBus Dip Nursing